99 Camry V6: UBDII P0402 & P1411 = (EGR) VSV or EGR Position Sensor or VCV?

1. Welcome to Toyota Tundra Forums : Tundra Solutions Forums General discussion forum for Toyota Trucks

Welcome to Toyota Tundra Forums : Tundra Solutions Forums - a website dedicated to all things Toyota Tundra.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Toyota Tundra Forums : Tundra Solutions Forums today!

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 99 Camry V6: UBDII P0402 & P1411 = (EGR) VSV or EGR Position Sensor or VCV?

Rookie
    Liked
    0 times

Question 99 Camry V6: UBDII P0402 & P1411 = (EGR) VSV or EGR Position Sensor or VCV?

Hello All,

Newbie here, hoping you might help me out with a check engine light problem.

My Camry shows no symptoms, it starts and runs fine. However, the check engine light recently came on and a diagnostic put out two UBDII Codes of P0402 (EGR excessive flow detected) and P1411 (EGR Valve Position Sensor circuit range performance malfunction.) From reading archived posts here and elsewhere, it appears the recommended plan of action is to clean the EGR Valve and replace either the EGR Position Sensor and/or the (EGR) VSV.

When I checked the EGR Position Sensor, I measured the resistance of the E2 and VC Terminal and got a reading of 8K ohms - this is about twice what Chiltons and Haynes suggest it should be. They both suggest it as 1.5K - 4.3K. Should I consider the EGR Position Sensor as bad? Is this greatly out of spec?