Toyota Tundra Forums banner

Getting 5th wheel camper ready

5K views 14 replies 6 participants last post by  handirifle 
#1 ·
I just recently purchased the 2013 crewmax louisiana edition 4x4 on 275/55/r20 bfg rugged terrain t/a. I'm in the process of setting up my reese hitch in the bed accompanied with the Reese sidewinder for the camper. Can somebody chime in and let me know if these tires are strong enough to handle a 5 th wheel roughly 8500lbs. I know I would need airbags but I don't know which ones and I know I need a brake controller but don't know which is
Better. I'm new to towing this big so any suggestions on how to set up truck would be greatly appreciate an taking into consideration.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
I think those tires are load range C, maybe D, more research is needed. Probably says on the sidewall itself. I would strongly recommend load range E for the superior sidewall strength.

Regarding airbags, last year I bought and installed a set of Airlift 5000 with the WirelessOne remote and I LOVE it! It was a pretty straight foreward install, no wiring or gauges into the cab which simplifies the install quite a bit. When I have a heavy load in the bed or when towing, I stand back like 75' from the truck and with the wireless remote, add air until the truck is "visually" level. Hop in the truck and go! Here is a link to my install thread with pictures: http://www.tundrasolutions.com/forums/tundra/225224-air-lift-load-lifter-5000-air/