Is it O.K. to drive with OD off for long periods?

1. Welcome to Toyota Tundra Forums : Tundra Solutions Forums – General discussion forum for Toyota Trucks

Welcome to Toyota Tundra Forums : Tundra Solutions Forums - a website dedicated to all things Toyota Tundra.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Toyota Tundra Forums : Tundra Solutions Forums today!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is it O.K. to drive with OD off for long periods?

Liked
    0 times

Question Is it O.K. to drive with OD off for long periods?

Yup, this is a TOTAL novice question, but then, I am a TOTAL novice!

I drive with my OD on 99.99% of the time. The truck came off the lot with the OD on, and when I turn the OD off an annoying idiot light (appropriate term) comes on. Well, a light is on, so doesn't that mean I shouldn't do this for too long?

When in town and doing any kind of up-hill driving (about 90% of my driving is one of these), having the OD off really is nice. So am I doing any harm by leaving it off most of the time? I like having that low-end punch, I rarely need the luxury of a smooth ride at 70 mph.... Basically, I'm asking if I can trade my ratios from OD on 99% of the time to OD off 99% of the time without hurting my baby.

thanks for helping this youngster, I appreciate it!

P.S. If driving with the OD off all the time is O.K., is there an easy way to make that stupid O/D OFF dash light go away?

2. Remove Advertisements
    Toyota Tundra Forum
    Advertisements

Liked
    0 times

Quote Originally Posted by molex