Toyota Tundra Forums banner

DIY Question - Shock Installation

6K views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  yamatoy 
#1 ·
Hey gang,

I've been browsing the posts and see plenty of talk about replacing shocks and struts but I haven't found a step-by-step write-up on how to. I've never done it before and would like to do this myself and it seems it's certainly doable with the proper tools. Does anyone have a write-up they could share? Pics would be fantastic. If there is a link that can be shared that perhaps I'm overlooking, that would work equally as well.

The reason I think I need new shocks is because my trucks braking distance has increased. Also, the backend seems to be lower than it was. Not much but it doesn't have the typical slant you see on a truck. I have the '05 DC Limited 4x4 and it's stock. When I do the bounce test, seems pretty normal frankly and I don't see fluid leaking from the shocks but they it just doesn't seem to be riding as well and it's the only thing I can think of.

Thank you in advance!

#2 ·
My first recommendation is to go to any post from RCSTundra and look at the bottom of his posts...there are links to repair manuals. Read the sections regarding front and rear suspension, including removal and installation. The rear should be straight foward...I think in your case the upper mounting mounting bolts for the rear shocks are accesible in the wheel well, but the front will be a bit more complicated. Doable, but complicated. You'll probably need someone to actually install the shock for you, since this involves a spring compressor.

My 2000 Tundra was easy enough, with the exception of the top mount on the rear. There was like a two to three inch access between the bed and the frame to work in...ended up cutting off the nut. Hope yours is easier!

#3 ·
My first recommendation is to go to any post from RCSTundra and look at the bottom of his posts...

:tu:, there are pictures in the manual!! :D

#7 ·