Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Premium Member
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
[disclaimer: I'm not a mechanic. I don't really work on cars much, but I've decided to start doing all my own stunts-- I mean work. I recently decided that, as a mechanical engineer, there's no reason I can't figure this stuff out with a little help from experienced people. So, I'm diving head-first into the deep end. Enjoy the show.]

I'm trying to fix my seized moon roof. It's stuck in the ever-so-slightly open position, which creates a lot of noise at highway speeds.

I started by checking the thing I discovered to be the most common- the motor going bad, but when I physically disconnect the motor from the moonroof, it spins as I would expect it to.

It seems to me that the guides/rails etc are gummed up. some of what I would otherwise expect to be grease is very sticky and a bit firm. I'm not sure if previous owner let sap get in there or what, or if it's just 20-year old grease does this.

So far I've found bits of pollen and leaves in the grease, but nothing that would be the obvious culprit as to why the tracks are seized.

I disconnected the.... I'm not sure what you'd call them- the helical/flexible lines that are in the copper tubes that physically connect / drive the moonroof from the motor... and I can move the "free" end that's in the bit of copper tube with the foam on the end, connecting to nothing. The grease in these helical drive units was kind of crumbly, and I'm suspecting that may be a big part of why it won't go, not necessarily the rails/tracks.

So, at this point, I'm thinking I need to pretty much disassemble the entire thing and get all the old grease out and apply new grease.
Does anyone have a judgment on that conclusion?

Does anyone have any idea what sort of grease I should be using for this? I know very little about grease.