Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new at this, so I would like to get some input with this.

I've got an '03 A/C w/ tow pkg, @ 68k miles right now, w/ new T4 ATF (14qts), inline trans filter, new diff. fluid mobil 1+LSD additive, new OE brakes, 40% tread left on Dueler H/T 830s on OEM 17" wheels.

I'm planning a 1300 mile round trip during spring break week pulling a toy hauler. Mainly pulling through west texas and possibly into NM, so I dont see too much elevation changes going on there.

It's got an equa-lizer hitch, elec. brakes, breakaway, ST 14" tires (80-90% good). I've got tekonsha controller wired in the tundra.

Can you guys look at the specs below and tell me what you think, or any suggestions as to what I will also need to make it right?

Vortex (19' x9'):
Hitch Weight 775 lbs
Dry Weight 4,956 lbs
Gross Weight 7,250 lbs
Cargo Weight 2,294 lbs
Fresh Water Capacity 38 gals (x 8.35lbs = 317 lbs)
Grey Water Capacity 32 gals
Black Water Capacity 32 gals
Fuel station tank capacity 18 gals (x 6.6lbs=119 lbs)

My TH cargo weight:
4 bikes (230+240+130+200=) =800 lbs
3 sets of gear =50lbs
tool chest = 40lbs
EZup & chairs & 8' fold table=80 lbs
5 gal of 44:1 premix=30 lbs
Bedding, laptop, DVD, food, drinks=50lbs
Total ~ 1050 lbs

Dry wt + cargo wt + fresh water cap = 4985+1050+317 = 6352 lbs Total TH weight.

Tundra:
towing cap=7300 lbs
Hitch weight= 750 lbs; 1000 lbs w/ WDH (can anyone verify this?)
GVWR=???

·
Registered
15 Posts
You should be fine. I have the same truck, and the total weight of my set up was 12,200lbs. I towed from Tucson to Yuma and back, with no problems.

·
Registered
151 Posts
Are you using a WDH?

You may also want to check the height of your hitch. From the pic you appear to be sagging in the middle. Trailer is nose down truck is squatting. The more level you are the more comfortable you will be.