Toyota Tundra Forums banner

2001 Sequoia 4x4 AFT recomendations?

4K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  nmcgrawj 
#1 ·
Whats up?!

A few years ago i bought my wife a 2003 tundra 4x4 step-side with 129,000 miles.
I went through the engine, timing belt/water pump and ALL the fluids. (I'm a master heavy duty tech)
It was clear TOYOTA T-IV was the only choice when it came time to replace the ATF filter and the fluid..

We liked the 03 Tundra so much, I bought her a 2001 Sequoia 4x4 limited with 129,000mi from an old lady which used it to take her late husband to, and from the hospital, as he refused to ride in a van.

They had all the maintenance done at their local Toyota dealer.

I have already ordered all the parts and stuff for a major service . Except the transmission fluid.. I am having a hard time choosing which ATF to use. At this point, all the options are aftermarket and there is NO Toyota brand (DEX III) fluid that is avialible.

I want to know what the community recommends before i bite the bullet and do a complete flush service.

I'm a mobil1 fan boy as I have used it in all my heavy duty and industrial application with complete success.

Seems like Valvoline MAXLIFE is popular. But, at $15 a gallon it just seems cheap and risky.

Castrol Transmax. like $25 a gallon..My parents used this for a long time in their Ford's and it never grenad-ed the trannies..

Amsoil, never used any their products. Their nomenclatures are confusing and nobody seems know what to use..

Royal purple is trash in MY opinion.

And then.. Mobil1 synthetic transmission fluid, at like $12 a quart! Do i trust it? Yes. do i want to pay like $200 for enough fluid to flush, not so much.

Not looking to have a contest to see what is "better" Just looking for the following:

In your 2001 sequoia:

1. What brand/type ATF do you use?
2. How long have you used it?
3. Current mileage?
4. Your satisfaction?

Anyway, thanks a-lot!

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)