Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time posting here so I hope I'm in the right spot and following procedures. I also hope someone can help...

Short version: I'd like to find the ignitor control module and ECM on this truck. I've googled and stared at pictures and youtube videos until I'm cross eyed... no luck.

Many thanks!

John

Long Version:

Long story, but who knows what may be important. 2002 4.7, bought it used from my father-in-law who bought it new. He takes good care of things and mostly has a shop do his work. 107K miles. Timing belt has been replaced. I'd have to go look at the sticker to be sure, but I think at 97K.

Ran great for several months and a couple of thousand miles. Then threw a check engine light. I had it read and the guy said it was evap, cleared it, tightened the gas cap. Code went away. Another month or so it did it again, same thing. I replaced the gas cap with a new one, but started to worry it might be something worse.

A few weeks went by. Suddenly out of nowhere it started missing badly and the light started flashing. Drove it home very carefully. Bought a reader. Codes showed missing on 5&7. Swapped the coils with 1 & 3. No change. Bought two spark plugs and a can of seafoam (parts store guy idea). Put the seafoam in and started it to see if it would help any. Missed a little for a few seconds, then smoothed out and ran perfectly... but I was suspicious. Let it idle for a few minutes then took it for a test drive. Started missing badly after about a mile, brought it home.

Replaced the two spark plugs on 5 & 7 (probably should have done them all and will tomorrow or Friday), numbered all the packs and swapped them all. Started up and ran great. Test drove it about two miles, ran great.

Next morning it wouldn't start at all (temps in the 30s). No codes.