Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to replace my Revtek spacer with a real suspension in the front. I would like to keep the lift between 2 and 2.5 inches.

From the threads on this site, it seems that a popular option is the Bilstien 5100. My problem is that my OEM springs are probably compressed because of the Revtek spacer being in there for 5 years.

So for me to do the 5100 and replace the OEM springs + labor to build the coilover, I'm looking at about $615.

Sway-A-Ways are only $100 more and come assembled and ready for install.

Can anyone provide input as to whether the Sway-A-Way (Camburg) are worth the extra money? thanks.

Matt

·
Registered
447 Posts
I'm not very experienced with truck suspension set-ups but I'd rather replace the stock set-up with something nice and new, adjustable and rebuildable versus 5100's and new stock springs. I like replacing stock crap with something aftermarket unless the OEM option is way better.

·
Registered
3,058 Posts
^^Ditto^^I don't have experience with 5100s or SAW, but I recently switched from a Revtek spacer on the factory setup to Bilstein coilovers. It went from bouncing over bumps to soaking them up. You won't be disappointed.

·
Registered
566 Posts
I had the Bilstein 5100's on my truck, and now I have the Camburg (SAW) 2.5" coilovers. If you don't do a lot of off-roading, I would go with the 5100's and just try to find some inexpensive coils. Call Sway-A-Way (818-700-9712) and ask them if they have a size that's the same as our stock coils, most of their coils are cheap (under $100 each)....
...But if you do a lot of off-roading, you might want the SAW's. They're stiffer than the 5100's and ride a little rougher on the road, but soak up big bumps like crazy! It would also be a smart idea to get uni-ball UCA's with these and that's at least another $528.00 (Wheeler's).