Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I have a couple of questions about getting a Tundra for towing - mainly towing a pontoon boat. Liking the smaller, pre-2007 models, I've settled upon a used 2005 or 2006 4wd V8 Tundra. My questions are as follows:
1. Do Tundras from these years come with the "towing package" as standard, or are they only on certain Tundras?
2. Is a 2005 or 2006 4wd V8 Tundra a good choice for towing a pontoon boat? I live in an area with a lot of mountainous, winding roads. Never having towed a boat before, I'm very new at this, so any help advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
45 Posts
Most do come with the factory tow package. Even a 2wd truck will be fine, just remember pulling a pontoon is like towing a parchute behind your truck.:eek: Take a look at the boat post in the towing forum, I posted a pic there this am. You might also want to check out Pontoon & Deck Boat Magazine, best pontoon forum on the web.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I have a 05 4wd Tundra and tow a 21 ft pontoon boat with no trouble. Its about fifteen mins to the boat ramp and its all winding and hilly, no problems.
Just remember there is a big boat behind you and dont try to get there too fast.

·
Registered
318 Posts
What cab config are you looking at? I ask because I think all DC from 2005-up have the towing package as standard equipment. It's really simple to find out if a truck has the towing package or not in the year range your looking at. Just look at the rear of the truck. If it has the factory hitch AND a 7-pin round plug for the trailering lights then it should have the factory towing package (can't just look for one with a hitch and the smaller 4-way flat plug for lights, I think that's standard on all Tundra's). Also, up front when you lift the hood you should see an extra cooler for the transmission mounted right in plain sight in front of everything else.;)