Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey fellas, new here. Bet there's already a ton of guys asking this same question, but......anyways. Here it goes.

I just bought a USED 2005 TRD OFF-ROAD 4.0 liter Double Cab. Everything is stock, except the Yokohama off road tires. It's got about 45k miles on it.

Now here's the question: I get about 16.5mpg with half/half city and highway driven miles, I drive like a granny, no heavy foot here. Is that NORMAL MPG im getting? if not, what can i do to improve it?

again, im new to the whole truck scene, so thanks in advance.

·
Registered
252 Posts
hi, i am sure you will get more replies than me .

remember a truck has different gears than a car and the aero package of a barn door.

the engine is a torque engine and best economy is in the 2k rpm range
and our calif gas has a lot of alcohol so that doesn't help either

some try bumping to neutral when slowing down and coast, but
when moving and letting off the gas the engine will turn OFF injecting gas so that way is better

i am a retired guy with just the basic 4 banger street tacoma and have a scanguage2 and it is interesting to see instant gas millage go to 99999 mpg
when coming up to a stop sign ;-D
one thought.... when were the spark plugs replaced? think it is 30K schedule, along with the usual air filter and stuff

with my street tacoma (4 banger 15 in rims 2 wheel drive auto tranny
scanguage i can get about 24 mpg city and a lot better on freeway but mostly just drive city

·
Registered
1,364 Posts
Welcome to TS!