Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just had my 2006 DC windshield replaced by a local company who came out to my house and replaced it in my garage.

The job took him a half an hour (which seemed fast) and the glass looks fine but the upper seal looks off.

Does anyone have pictures of a correct 2006 DC upper windshield trim should look? Or a part number?

The installer did a sloppy job: (picts below)

• he did not clean off the sealant (but I can probably get that off)
  • he did not press it all the way down on the passenger side (but if I heat it up, I can get that down)
  • the top seal is a bit wavy in one place
I am leaning toward having him come back with a new upper trim piece and reseal the top, but I don't know if I should have him replace the top seal or how the factory job is supposed to look.

What do you guys think?

Thanks,
Bob

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi ,I install autoglass for a living. That job looks like ***. I would call that company and tell them to send a manager over to redo the job. That upper seal you are taking about, It is not a seal it is a moulding (just cosmetic) The windsheild is set and sealed with a ureathane adhesive (looks like black caulking) That is what you are seeing on your roofline .Do not try removing it yourself, It does not come off easy and you could damage your paint. What happend there is the company you used prob used a cheap uerathane that does not have a high viscosity, so when the tech set it on the ureathane bead the windshield slid down a little. Thats why the moulding does not look consistant all the way across the roof,and at that one point wavy. That is not a oem moulding it is a universal style. They are know for being wavy if they do not sit snug against the roof. Unfortunatly there are alot of hacks in the autoglass industry. The job deffinatley needs to be redone,do not fall for anything else. The tech might try to say he can run some glue in there and