Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, Don Mcgill Toyota in Katy just quoted me $470 for the 30,000 maint. on my 06 Tundra 4X4. I said "OK that includes new spark plugs etc?" and the reply was "No, those are extra." I was completely pissed about this because the spark plug change is the major part of Toyota's 30,000 mile maint. recommendations. So I don't know why that would not be included in the quote from the dealer. (For $470 I could add another AK to my collection).

Anyway my question is in regard to what really needs to be done at 30,000 miles (besides oil change and tire rotation). I'm no mechanic, but it seems too early to be changing spark plugs. I've already inspected my brake pads and I really don't think I need to worry about all the miscellaneous hoses and what not that they "inspect" during the maintenance. My driving is pretty much all freeway, no off-road.

So here's what I think I should get done, please let me know what you think:

Replace engine oil and oil filter
Rotate tires
Replace limited-slip differential oil
Re-torque propeller shaft bolt
Replace engine air filter

Should any other fluids be changed like trans. fluid?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
3,510 Posts
Kinda WAY too much if ya ask me!! as far as spark plugs they are not required change at 30K!! thats why they are charging ya!! tell them NOO!! only other thing of any major expenses would be all 3 running gear fluid changes "IF" you have been towing and if you have not thats another big NO!! that leaves OIL,FILTER,Air Filter which should max out at around maybe 65.00 and rotate tires should be done but thats a DIY for me cause most dealerships use air ratchets that will torque to 1000 Ft lbs and end up warping your brake rotors!! I would not pay that much but i guess people pay more??Nothing on this list a DIY maintainer can't do in a day, unless ya run outta !!BEER!!
1. 7 Qts 5W30=$40.00 Mobil 1 & new drain washer