Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, let me say thank you for the assistance from this forum on the integration of my head unit.
I now have everything working as it shouldthe reverse camera, navigation, steering wheel controls, and factory microphone all on the JBL Audio system.

My original system was the factory navigation unit in a 2007 double cab, with blue tooth, reverse camera, sonar, and steering wheel controls. After using the factory navigation unit for a month I decided it was time to go. My last truck had an Eclipse 726E which I loved, so I decided t go that direction. The other nice thing is that Fujitsu Ten who makes the factory Toyota units also makes Eclipse, so the integration is simplified in many ways.

I am going to give an outline of the connections to save everyone the trouble of the research I had to do. I hold no responsibility for the following; I am just helping to assist you in the connections which worked for me, check the wiring for yourself.

You will need the aftermarket mounting kit and JBL harness adapter (Scosche Model number TA07SR), about $95 on eBay. Follow the instructions for the Scosche harness and wire to your head unit. The Scosche dash kit is a pretty good fit and a VERY good color match. The Scosche adapter wiring harness has three wires which are not listed in the manual; I called to find out what they are:

Orange = illumination
Blue = Power Antenna
Orange/Black = Dimmer Ground

For the steering wheel controls:
Use the k21 connector on the back of the factory head unit. The steering wheel controls work like the factory, except for the voice command button on the steering wheel now mutes the audio, very nice. The Bluetooth buttons answer and hang up the phone, and all of the audio buttons work properly.

Toyota Light green = Eclipse Brown/Black
Toyota Gray = Eclipse Brown
Toyota Brown = Ground

For the camera:
Use the k7 connector on the back of the head unit. If you have the eclipse unit you can simply use the power output on the unit which is 6 volts. The factory camera wants 5-7 volts. If you are using another unit, you can use any USB car charger and hard wire it to the cigarette lighter; this will give you a solid 5 volts to the camera. Make sure you wire to the switched cigarette lighter so the camera is not powered all of the time.

When facing the rear of the Eclipse the wiring is as follows:

Upper left, pin 2 = Camera Power
Upper Right, Pin 1 = Video + input
Lower left, Pin 4 = Ground
Lower Right, Pin 3 = Video – input

I purchased an aftermarket camera adapter made for the eclipse to adapt it to a standard video camera. It had pins 1, 3 & 4 no pin 2. I moved pin 4 to the pin2 location on the plug, this gave me power, video + and video – from the head unit. I took the camera ground and tied it to the rest of the system grounds.

Then I connected these wires to the factory K7 connector wires as follows:

Toyota pin 21 white/black = Ground to common
Toyota pin 24 Black = Eclipse Pin 2, Power 5-7v
Toyota pin 22 Red = Eclipse Pin 1, Video +
Toyota pin 23 Grey = Eclipse Pin 3, Video -

For the Aux Jack:
Use the k5 connector on the back of the head unit.
The Eclipse does not have the Aux input, so I did not connect this. I am posting the below information that I researched simply so that others have a more complete guide to replacing their stereo.

Toyota pin 3 Black = RCA input Left +
Toyota pin 2 Red = RCA input Right +
Toyota pin 5 White = Shield for both right and left

For the Reverse Wire:
Use the k6 connector on the back of the head unit.
Toyota Pin 5 Gray wire


For the Microphone:
I did a substantial amount of wiring, trouble shooting, building of power supplies, and legwork…to be beat by the OEM microphone amplifier. In the end I tried the simplest of things; I bypassed the Microphone amplifier and simply connected the factory microphone. This gave me a microphone that fit perfectly into the location and worked great. The OEM mic DOES NOT need the amplifier when used with the Eclipse head unit, and I can assume this is the same for all head units.

I tested with a parrot mic and the Eclipse mic, both held in numerous areas of the vehicle, and in ALL cases the Toyota OEM mic was the clearest.

To bypass the amplifier is easy, here it is:

Behind the factory radio, on the k7 connector, connect the following:
Toyota Brown wire = Tip + of a mono 1/8” headphone connector
Toyota Yellow = Ring – of the headphone connector

At the microphone in the headliner, Remove the mic and do the following:
1. Cut the four wires between the plug and where they enter the wire bundle.
2. Connect two pieces of wire to extend the Brown and Black wires, 3” works fine.
3. Mask off or heatshrink the extra wires.
4. Open the mic casing and expose where the mic connects to the amplifier.
5. Solder the new wires to the circuit board where the mic connects.
6. Connect Brown to the mic +, and Black to the mic -.
7. Re-assemble the mic and install in the vehicle.
8. Plug the mic into your head unit.
9. Enjoy the factory microphone!!!

I hope this helps others; it took a long time to gather all of the information. I will post other documents to support the wiring diagrams for the vehicle.

Good luck with you installation!!!
:D
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,131 Posts
perfect. much appreciated. ive been looking for the toyota connector for the camera, and which wires are which. the best i could find previously, was the wiring up in the headliner. which seemed really pointless to go hacking into, when the connector was already right behind the head unit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
For the steering wheel controls:
Use the k21 connector on the back of the factory head unit. The steering wheel controls work like the factory, except for the voice command button on the steering wheel now mutes the audio, very nice. The Bluetooth buttons answer and hang up the phone, and all of the audio buttons work properly.

Toyota Light green = Eclipse Brown/Black
Toyota Gray = Eclipse Brown
Toyota Brown = Ground
Once connected, do you have to program them through the unit or should they just work? My local Eclipse dealer installed mine, but only the mode, volume and channel buttons work.

Thank for posting this information!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
i have a JVC unit with the SWI-JACK and i had to program it. I would assume it's the same way here.

I did the same thing with the voice command button and made it use the 'ACC' command.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
i have a JVC unit with the SWI-JACK and i had to program it. I would assume it's the same way here.

I did the same thing with the voice command button and made it use the 'ACC' command.
I tried to program them, but couldn't get them to work. I may have to pull the unit and check the connections.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
If you are using an eclipse the commands work automatically with no interface or programming. If you are using another head unit you have to use an adapter which limits you to five commands.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
47 Posts
Thanks for posting this. I did a search for "microphone" because I want to use the factory microphone with the Alpine KCE-400BT Bluetooth module and it looks like it will work. I didn't want to have to pull the headliner to get this to work.

The wiring diagrams are an awesome addition as well. THANKS!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
47 Posts
Here's a list of items I'm looking at. I'd like some advise if anyone has any thoughts.

  1. Alpine INA-W900 Head Unit/DVD/Nav
  2. Alpine YUA-T550HD HD Radio Tuner
  3. Alpine KCE-400BT Bluetooth Adapter
  4. Alpine KCA-SC100 Sirius Satellite Adapter
  5. PXA-H100 Audessey Audio Processor
  6. PXAH100 MultiEQ Calibration Kit
  7. PKG-M780 Dual Headrest Monitors
  8. PAC TR7 Universal Trigger Module for Video while driving bypass
  9. PAC Steering Wheel Control Adapter (WHICH MODEL NUMBER DO I NEED FOR THIS?)
  10. Scosche TA2073b Double DIN Kit
  11. Toyota OEM Backup Camera in tailgate handle.
  12. FL, FR, C, RL, RR Speakers (THINKING OF MB Quarts OR SOMETHING. THOUGHTS? WHAT SIZES DO I NEED? DO I NEED ADAPTERS?)
  13. PPI Amps
  14. 15" JL Audio Sub
  15. Wiring
Questions I have:

  1. Can I wire the current USB port that is already in the truck to the head unit?
  2. Where the heck am I going to mount all of those Alpine aiNet adapters?
  3. Any considerations for wiring the factory microphone to the Alpine Bluetooth adapter?
Any help would be appreciated.:help: Thank you! :yo:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,131 Posts
One other thing. what wire did you use from the factory harness, to wire in the dimmer/illumination??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
2 Questions:

Can anybody confirm that the JBL (NON-Nav) head unit has the K7 Video Connector?

Has anyone successfully powered the OEM Camera with a 5V USB Car Charger as the original poster suggests?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Forget my first question, I figured out where to get the video signal (Driver's A-Pillar).

Again, has anyone tried to use a 5V USB Car Charger to power the OEM camera?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Forget my first question, I figured out where to get the video signal (Driver's A-Pillar).
Hi,

I am getting ready to install the same HU (AVN726E) in a 2006 Sienna and was wondering:


1. Does anyone know what camera adapter kit Cinemagic was talking about?

2. To Seabass23: can you tell me more about how you got the video signal from and how you connected it to your HU?

Thanks,
Andy
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
2. To Seabass23: can you tell me more about how you got the video signal from and how you connected it to your HU?
I grabbed the video signal from the A-Pillar wiring as shown in this Post here.

I used a shielded video cable. On one end, I hacked off the RCA plug and connected the center conductor to Video+ and the shield to Video-. I see some interference in the video picture so I plan to find a shielded two-conductor cable and use conductors for +/- and I will ground the shield on one end. This should make for a better connection (or so I have read).

I have bought the parts and built the Voltage Regulator so that I can power the camera continuously off the Accessory circuit. Once I find the proper shielded cable for the video signal, I will tear things apart and replace the video cable and install the voltage regulator.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
funny me and my installer were talking about this today I have a Pioneer avic 120 bt on order should be here next week and I was hoping to use the factory mic. Going to pass this to him see if we can do this on my 2010. Thanks for the write up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
funny me and my installer were talking about this today I have a Pioneer avic 120 bt on order should be here next week and I was hoping to use the factory mic. Going to pass this to him see if we can do this on my 2010. Thanks for the write up.
I've got the AVIC-120bt. I removed my factory mic and installed the Pioneer mic in the factory location. I've had a few people complain about sound quality. Let me know how it sounds when you use the factory mic.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,131 Posts
anyone know the correct harness i would need for a 2010 non-JBL system?
With only 6 posts, you'll get the benefit of the doubt that you don't know better. But use the search function. There is a multitude of stereo install threads for both JBL and non-JBL systems.
 

·
Veteran Member
Joined
·
1,048 Posts
I realize this is an old thread, but it has a LOT of great information and I still have one stupid question:
I have the Pioneer AVICZ120BT installed with the Pioneer mic in factory mic location and it does not work well at all. I have done tons of searches on different sites and this is a common problem and no one seems to know of a descent aftermarket mic. My question is do you have to bypass the amp on the OEM mic or can the mic be used with the amp? I know this is probably a stupid question, and I apologiz in advance. Any help is GREATLY appreciated.
Thanks again to cinemagic for this how-to, it is awesome!
Ken
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,131 Posts
I realize this is an old thread, but it has a LOT of great information and I still have one stupid question:
I have the Pioneer AVICZ120BT installed with the Pioneer mic in factory mic location and it does not work well at all. I have done tons of searches on different sites and this is a common problem and no one seems to know of a descent aftermarket mic. My question is do you have to bypass the amp on the OEM mic or can the mic be used with the amp? I know this is probably a stupid question, and I apologiz in advance. Any help is GREATLY appreciated.
Thanks again to cinemagic for this how-to, it is awesome!
Ken

If that is a common Pioneer problem, I would try a search over at avic411.com if you haven't already.
 
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
Top