Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty excited about this airbox mod and thought I would start a thread that some could follow if you are interested to track along with my experience. First I have to give credit to HiVolt who had the idea and did the hard work to research, test and sell the concept. He provided the initial install instructions which inspired my work here. His post and thread here is excellent, I'm thankful, check it out! http://www.tundrasolutions.com/forums/1gen-member-mods-build-threads-write/109612-stock-air-flow-numbers-and-mod/

In my first post I'll provide a some detail about my version of the install and continue posting with ideas and updates. I don't normally do write-ups like this and I'm willing to update with more/less detail as needed. Also I must admit I'm not a mechanic, I'm just a guy who enjoys learning about wrenching on his truck, a do-it-yourselfer at heart that enjoys these forums. Proceed at your own risk!

Materials:
3 1/2 hole saw http://www.lowes.com/pd_348150-28303-1772946_0__?productId=3361296&Ntt=3+in+hole+saw&pl=1&currentURL=%3FNtt%3D3%2Bin%2Bhole%2Bsaw&facetInfo=
2 - 45 degree 3in pipes. I purchased two of these Shop NIBCO 3-in Dia 45-Degree ABS Street Elbow Fitting at Lowes.com
Drill w/ bits for the pilot holes
10mm socket and phillips screwdriver to remove airbox
File

Install:
1 - Locate the spot for your 3 1/2 hole, finished spot is below. There is a sweet spot which won't interfere or overlap with the existing opening for the a/c line. I used the hole saw without the bit, to very carefully mark the mid point to be sure it's precise. There is a fold in the metal where it curves and bends backward, this is exactly where I aimed my pilot hole.
3.jpg
2 - Drill the pilot hole to help keep it all steady with the hole saw in the next step.