Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I'm new here and to Toyota vehicles. Recently I sold my 2003 Dodge Ram due to quite a few problems... rust, a/c system failure, dashboard cracking, etc. After selling the Dodge I decided to purchase a Toyota as my father has had great luck with his 2002 Sequoia. So last week I purchased a 2006 Tundra SR5 access cab with 31,000 miles on it. The original owner traded it in to purchase a new Tundra. So far, so good with the new-to-me truck.

Question.....how do I adjust the alarm system to have the the lights only flash when the alarm activates...currently the lights flash, beeps and the horn sounds. I do not want any audible sounds when activating/deactivating the alarm.

Thanks,

Mike
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
2,445 Posts
Do you know if it is a factory system or an after market system? I believe the factory system is the RS3200. But it still may not be depending on what was done at the time of shipment of the truck.

I don't have the direct info on it but if you search for that system there is a lot of information here. I have a DC and that system doesn't work on them. I had to go after market.

Sorry I could not be of more help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I believe it is a factory system. The owner's manual refers to it as TVIP...Toyota Vehicle Intrusion Protection.
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
2,445 Posts
If that is true then it is most likely that RS3200 system and I am pretty sure there are some threads on TS that will help you to program it. I remember running across some when I was trying to find out information for alarms on my truck.

Maybe someone else will offer up some assistance... but I would try to do some searching. When you do... do the advanced search for "rs3200" in the thread title, otherwise it will list every post with that in it.
 

·
Mech. Engr. / Mechanic
Joined
·
824 Posts
If your truck originated in Florida (or any of the SE states or Gulf states) it will have the securikey alarms system. It's a port installed system. There is a copy of the manual in my picture gallery. If it's not the securikey system, then search on here for the RS3200.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,061 Posts
If your truck originated in Florida (or any of the SE states or Gulf states) it will have the securikey alarms system. It's a port installed system. There is a copy of the manual in my picture gallery. If it's not the securikey system, then search on here for the RS3200.
+ points. this may be exactly what i need.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
If your truck originated in Florida (or any of the SE states or Gulf states) it will have the securikey alarms system. It's a port installed system. There is a copy of the manual in my picture gallery. If it's not the securikey system, then search on here for the RS3200.
Thank you very much for the info. I have not had time to verify if I have the securikey or RS3200 but you have given me some info to work with....it looks like it may be port installed as there is a small red light near my parking brake that lights up when the system is activated.

Thanks again,

Mike
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Took the truck by a car alarm store today and they identified the alarm as a Audiovox PRO 2032 system. They kindly printed the owner's manual off Audiovox's website and then programmed the system to not sound the horn when activated/deactivated. They didn't charge me a dime but I insisted the tech take a twenty dollar bill and buy the shop employees a couple of cold ones after work today.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
421 Posts
On your AUTOMATE, is there a 1 to 2 second delay before it unlocks the doors using the Automate remote control?
 

·
Moderator
2015 Toyota Tundra DC SR5 5.7L
Joined
·
8,534 Posts
Took the truck by a car alarm store today and they identified the alarm as a Audiovox PRO 2032 system. They kindly printed the owner's manual off Audiovox's website and then programmed the system to not sound the horn when activated/deactivated. They didn't charge me a dime but I insisted the tech take a twenty dollar bill and buy the shop employees a couple of cold ones after work today.
That was a very nice thing that they did; there doesn't seem to be a lot of places like that anymore. Customer service? What's that??

Post up the name and general location of the shop. They deserve to be identified so those in the area will know where to go. :tu:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
That was a very nice thing that they did; there doesn't seem to be a lot of places like that anymore. Customer service? What's that??

Post up the name and general location of the shop. They deserve to be identified so those in the area will know where to go. :tu:
Rollin Sound on Phillips Hwy in jacksonville, Fl

Here is their website Home Page
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
421 Posts
nope. it flashes the parking lights and honks the horn. twice for unlock, once for lock. i also have to hit the unlock a second time to unlock the rest of the doors.

You got a good deal if it unlocks instantly with Automate. I had it installed and there was a 1-2 second delay & the install shop told me that was normal. I have never heard of that being normal,have you?
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
2,445 Posts
You got a good deal if it unlocks instantly with Automate. I had it installed and there was a 1-2 second delay & the install shop told me that was normal. I have never heard of that being normal,have you?
I have a Viper 5601 alarm/rs. It has that same delay which I don't like. The Toyota OEM keyless entry had no such delay.

I installed an additional module that interfaces with the door locks so that I didn't have to connect and diode isolate each door trigger wire and possibly install a relay or two. This was a simple connection module but I believe it is the cause of this delay. There are some other minor glitches and I suspect this same module may be the culprit. It may get removed in the near future.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,061 Posts
You got a good deal if it unlocks instantly with Automate. I had it installed and there was a 1-2 second delay & the install shop told me that was normal. I have never heard of that being normal,have you?
im not positive its a complete automate system, or just the keyfobs. my security light on the instrument cluster (red truck with key in it) comes on when armed. guess i'll figure it out one of these days.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
421 Posts
I have a Viper 5601 alarm/rs. It has that same delay which I don't like. The Toyota OEM keyless entry had no such delay.

I installed an additional module that interfaces with the door locks so that I didn't have to connect and diode isolate each door trigger wire and possibly install a relay or two. This was a simple connection module but I believe it is the cause of this delay. There are some other minor glitches and I suspect this same module may be the culprit. It may get removed in the near future.
Yea, the Automate & Viper are both made by the same company Directed Electronics, it is a shame they cannot get rid of that delay, wonder if any Viper Sales Reps read this board can chime in to when they will have this fix for such a delay? I would buy the full blown top of the line they make if they could promise me it would unlock just like the Toyota OEM keyless entry.
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
2,445 Posts
I honestly think for me it is the extra module that connects to the door lock system. It connect via data wire. So, one module to another... If that was removed and a relay with diodes (the tried and true tested way) installed I am thinking the delay will be gone. When I have some extra time I will try this out and post back... it will be a while.
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top