Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have ceremic Thorley headers in my 4runner and as much as I love them, I have had some issues that I had to deal with. Nothing too major, but I burned through some spark plug wires before I learned how to route and wrap them specially, and I also burn through starters faster than usual, just from the heat.

I'm wondering whether the JBA shorty headers in the Sequoia cause any issues at all that anyone has run into. Any thoughts in general on these headers in Sequoias (especially 2005-2007) would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
96 Posts
Other than the typical challenges of bolting them on in the tight space, I had to bend the transmission shift cable away from the header on my 2001.
I've been running them for almost 3 years. I love em! No problems.

·
Registered
1,041 Posts
With the Sequoia you shouldn't have to worry about the same problems as in your 4Runner....but I do know on some V8 applications JBA makes a special heat resistant plug wire. Seems like the wires are far enough away and I've never heard of anyone having a problem with them. Also, from the tundra postings, the gasket choice seems to make a difference. I think most recommend the factory Toyota gaskets at the head. Not sure what was the best to run at the collector.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks RogueRider and Big-O...it seems like the jba sequoia headers are pretty problem-free. that's great news.