Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
403 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a Plumber/Gas Fitter and while working for companies the past few years I've been driving basically Chevy Express company vans'. Never had an issue with the vans, they're great machines and work well, and aren't too bad in the reliability department either. Keep in mind though I'm NOT a service plumber, but more of a Hydronic Guru who happened upon hydronic heating doing plumbing installations for new construction and renovation plumbing. Now I'm also a hydronic heating (radiant floors, baseboard, boilers, etc.) designer to boot, and I intend at some point to go on my own hopefully soon, possibly next year.

Many say don't go with a truck, but those many are service plumbers. I'm curious if any of you guys use your Tundra for work. I currently own an '07 Tacoma Double cab 4x4 V6 Long bed (automatic) and a seperate van for the company I work for. I'm considering when I go on my own having a double duty vehicle (home/work) and that would be in a Tundra Double Cab, possibly long bed version (yes I know, one hell of a long truck, but would fit the duty very well). I've been looking at pictures of different commercial canopies, racks, etc. lately, but I really wanna see one in person. I'm not going to be carrying huge stock or anything, just mostly tools, instruments, the odd hot water tank, the odd batch of fittings & pipe that will be driven directly to a job site or a location and not inventoried (although I may carry a very very small inventory of some fittings).

I guess the question I want to know is if you work out of your Tundra, what type of business do you run, what type of set up do you have (especially if you're into contracting).