Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
1,268 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got an appointment in a few hours to do the shim and more importantly to remedy the leak as shown in the pics....Now, I am no expert, but this sure looks like acid leaking... I remember the thread where the guys under hood area was trashed due to leaking acid so I figured I should address this before I exceed 36,000 miles in a few weeks...

Anyone want to comment on how it should be fixed? Can it simply be cleaned off with baking soda and the battery replaced, or should the hose be replaced instead??

Also, anyone know what the blue stuff painted on the terminals is?

Thanks for the input....

Attachments

·
Premium Member
5,472 Posts
Wow, that's ugly.:eek:
I have used a heavy mix of baking soda and water applied with a brush to clean up battery acid spills. Brush it on an let it sit for a few minutes then hose it off. Do it a least twice until you don't see any more foaming.
The hose will probably be OK if you clean it. I would be a whole lot more worried about the fuse box and wiring.
Good luck, Cliff!:biggrin1:

·
Registered
1,268 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wow, that's ugly.:eek:
I have used a heavy mix of baking soda and water applied with a brush to clean up battery acid spills. Brush it on an let it sit for a few minutes then hose it off. Do it a least twice until you don't see any more foaming.
The hose will probably be OK if you clean it. I would be a whole lot more worried about the fuse box and wiring.
Good luck, Cliff!:biggrin1:
crap, didn't really think about the fuse box....think the wiring inside has been affected??? grrrr.....

·
Registered
1,268 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
http://www.tundrasolutions.com/forums/tundra/174244-what-happened-to-my-battery-2/

Checked my friends battery with 14k miles and his was bad too, just not as bad as yours. Are you
the original owner?