Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i did something very stupid. :clumsy:

Tundra had a bad battery. i saw that my tundra had a group 27 battery and purchased same. upon connecting the positive cable to the battery, the horn sounded, the lights came on, and i think i soiled my underwear.

The battery should have been a 27F which has the positive and negative reversed. Being an electrician, i feel like the biggest moron not to have verified this. nonetheless, after purchasing the right battery and installing it, the truck would not start and all of the instrument panel lights would not go off. i started pulling and replacing bad fuses and finally got it running but nothing else works (radio, signals, etc.). the instrument panel lights are all still on (all of them) and i am nervous to drive it to the dealer. i live in a rural area and the drive to the dealer is around 80 miles from here. being an electrician, i can rewire anything but the computer and electronic components on these new vehicles are unknown territory to me. any advice would be helpful.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
2,395 Posts
Man, that really sucks - sorry to hear that!

The ECM is reverse diode protected, but most of the other stuff is likely toast. Sad thing is once you get the dash fixed/replaced, you'll find out whether your airbag/SRS computer is bad. Alternator may be ok, but any relay or solenoid with an induction arresting diode is probably bad. I would also try to pull some diagnostic codes if you can to tell what else may be affected. You may want to claim this under your insurance - I doubt you'd be able to sneak it in for warranty even if you lied about it. The damage will be obvious when everything gets taken apart.

·
Mark it eight, Dude...
4,373 Posts