Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2002 4x4 V8 Tundra, which I bought new in 2002, has never stopped well. I measure my stopping distance in fractions of a lightyear. You basically need to make an appointment and put it on your calendar to get the truck to stop. I have never locked up any of the brakes even in extremely hard panic stops. There is no ABS, it just has a very long stopping distance with dramatic brake fade.

I am a good defensive driver and have never been in an accident, but I'm getting old and that means my reaction times must be increasing. I'm also pulling a small trailer a few times a week. It's under 2000 pounds, but does push me just a little farther than the usual stopping distance. So I would like to improve my braking.

I understand that Toyota improved the brakes starting in 2005. And they tacitly admitted to the poor braking of the earlier models by producing an upgrade kit. I talked to the Toyota service adviser about getting the upgrade when I had a brake job a few years ago. He said it cost a butt-load of money and only improved them slightly. I asked around and got mixed feedback. Some loved the upgrade and some agreed with the service advisor. There was still room to turn the rotors, so I decided to wait until I needed new rotors and then upgrade the whole system.

In the mean time I have become aware that there are after market brake upgrades out there. (Sorry, I'm not an enthusiast, just a driver, so there is probably a lot that I do not know about upgrades.)

I think my rotors are shot now and it's time to decide. Can anyone answer any or all of these questions?