Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I feel like I'm overlooking the thread as I'm sure I am not the first to ask...

I'm looking to by a camper sometime this fall either a travel trailer or maybe a 5'er and that is where the wheels come off. I would like to by a couple year old vs. new because of depreciation but I feel like I am looking for a needle in a haystack when looking for a 5'er that stays within a couple hundred pounds of the limits on the pin. Is there a list somewhere that sums up the ones that stay close? I know some are going way over but I don't think that is for me.

I'm a complete newb when it comes to campers but ultimately want a separate bunk room for the kids and a separate master for me and the misses. I'm currently driving a 2008 crewmax limited 4x4. My hauling experience is all farm related over my entire life but never a camper or a fifth wheel.

Thanks for your help! Forgive me if I didn't do the right search.

·
Registered
340 Posts
My first advice is not to go asking this question over on rv.net as some of their self appointted weight police will tell you the tundra cant tow more than a popup.

I would however consider only looking at travel trailers and for 2 reasons.
1 you said you wanted to purchase used and it will be difficult to locate a good used 5er that has a low pin weight
2 you have a crew max which has a very short bed and require an exspensive slider hitch.

With this said you will find a lot more travel trailers that are bunk houses that the tundra will tow. I would reccomend a good weight dist hitch such as a reese dual cam, also a good brake controller. Then future might require upgrading your "P" rated tires to some "LT" truck tires.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your reply. I've been over there and some of those folks have the "little man" syndrome about their trucks and bash the Tundra for it. I haven't bothered posting there.