Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I did some research and bought a 400 watt kicker amp and 800 watt kicker cvt subwoofer and all the wiring but am wondering if I will need anything extra to connect it to the stock non-jbl head unit before I start tearing everything apart. This is the first time I have done any stereo mods so I'm new to all this. Any advice would be great

·
Premium Member
1,261 Posts
Just a word of advice... it is much better to just swap out the head unit. You'll notice a HUGE difference when you do that... you may want to consider doing the same with the speakers. Once you do that, you'll never go back!! It will become clear as day why after-market stereo components are much, much better than stock... PM me if you need any info for wiring/setup and I can guide you through it. I have replaced the head-unit, speakers, cabling and added a 5-channel TOL Kicker amp and SW. Good luck!

·
Registered
422 Posts
Just a word of advice... it is much better to just swap out the head unit. You'll notice a HUGE difference when you do that... you may want to consider doing the same with the speakers. Once you do that, you'll never go back!! It will become clear as day why after-market stereo components are much, much better than stock... PM me if you need any info for wiring/setup and I can guide you through it. I have replaced the head-unit, speakers, cabling and added a 5-channel TOL Kicker amp and SW. Good luck!

except the aftermarket head units dont match the interior.... and the adapters dont look the same as the rest of the shiny plastic.

·
Registered
246 Posts
except the aftermarket head units dont match the interior.... and the adapters dont look the same as the rest of the shiny plastic.
You're looking at the wrong adapters them. I have a piano finish bezel for my Alpine W407 in my '07 Tundra. Most people think it's stock.