Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First post noob here, so I'm not terribly familiar with the protocols of this particular forum, so please bear with me.

I have an 08 5.7 with 20k miles. Never had an issue until Saturday afternoon. Ran a short errand (30 miles there and back). Pulled it into the garage about 1pm. Go back down to leave again at about 5 pm, fires up, dies after about 2-3 seconds. Same thing again and again, tried for about 10 minutes. All electrical connections, etc. good. Full tank, just bought gas at the same station I bought gas for my Corvette earlier that morning (so I'm assuming it's not bad gas). I say screw it, jump in my trusty old 2000 4-Runner and go about my business.

Go back to the garage the next morning and try it again. It fires up and runs like a champ the rest of the weekend. No check engine light. Thought if it had a hunk of crap on a fuel injector, etc, it should have thrown a code for a lean condition and turned the light on. Called dealer this morning, he says not to worry about it, it was probably flooded? I've never had an EFI vehicle "flood" before, and if it did, I'd think it would turn the check light on for a rich condition code. This is my wife's daily driver she takes kiddo to day care in, etc., and I'd hate to have them stranded. What say the gurus of Tundra Solutions?

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
352 Posts
sounds like a immobilizer key issue,,,, im not positive but i think i saw a tsb on a no start,, will have to look tomorrow when i go in..

·
Premium Member
5,467 Posts
My guess would be an issue with the engine immobilizer. It will act EXACTLY like that. It can happen if there is another key with a chip on your key ring or radio interference.
If it does it again look to see if the immobilizer indicator (red truck symbol) next to the clock is flashing. If it is then that key is not recognized by the ECU.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4