Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm a total towing newbie. Just got a 2007 Sequoia with the tow package.

Question: was this supposed to come with a ball mount? Or is the expectation that everyone will go out and buy their own?

Also - can someone help me out with the proper terminology? I'm not gettting much info when I search for "ball mount". What's the difference between a "hitch", a "drawbar" and a "ball mount"?

Thanks!

Brew

·
Registered
115 Posts
Brew,
The terms hitch, drawbar, and ball mount are sometimes used interchangeably but the correct term would be ball mount.
For stability reasons, it is necessary to tow that the trailer as level as possible. I have a trailer that is level when the top of the ball is at 19”. My Land Cruiser required a ball mount with a 3” rise while my Tundra needs a ball mount with a 6” drop to level the same trailer. For that reason, the factory tow package does not come with a ball mount.
Info at this link will help you get the correct measurements:
Reese-Hitches.com > America's most recognized Hitch!

·
Premium Member
1,231 Posts
Hi guys,

I'm a total towing newbie. Just got a 2007 Sequoia with the tow package.

Question: was this supposed to come with a ball mount? Or is the expectation that everyone will go out and buy their own?

Also - can someone help me out with the proper terminology? I'm not gettting much info when I search for "ball mount". What's the difference between a "hitch", a "drawbar" and a "ball mount"?

Thanks!

Brew