Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
647 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've meant to get pictures up sooner but work has been kinda crazy. Nevertheless, I got my truck finished up this past Friday and now have a Regular Cab with factory NAV and a leather wrapped steering wheel with functioning controls. It's awesome!!! :D

Here are a few pics of "before" when it was torn apart and of course after when it was all put together. I have to say, I love it. Not sure why so many people are unhappy with the factory NAV system. It does more than enough for me. I'm still learning it as I go. I was able to sync my blackberry storm 2 to it, so bluetooth is now cool!

I had the GPS antenna placed in the far right corner of the dash--two sided tape (picture included), for improved reception, or at least that's a recommendation I received and I guess it works better. No issues with reception here in the mountains where I live. I also added a microphone, installed on the drivers A pillar--two sided tape, (picture included) and it works great for incoming calls as I just press the answer key on the wheel and talk away, all while my phone remains in my pocket. I can also see who is calling on the NAV display. The amp is under the passenger seat as it was easier to put it there and not visible anyway.

Here's the link that started it all for me so thanks to MarkJ for getting me going: http://www.tundrasolutions.com/forums/audio-and-stereo/164603-add-steering-wheel-audio-controls-diy/

BTW: I did not install this myself. I took it to my local dealer who has been a tremendous help to me, along with other TS members. If not for you folks, I would not have power fold mirrors, optitron gauges, corsa sport exhaust, volant air intake, fully functional MPG display etc..... I would however have a bit more money......Can I get an :amen: But it's been worth it to have a regular cab with mostly limited options. Thanks!!