Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased my 2005 SR5 Access Cab and i had a couple of stereo questions i'm hoping someone can help me with.... I am pretty new in the car audio realm... I'm not big into loud booming stereos so i really have no future plans for installing a subwoofer in my truck, but i would like a clear, clean sound.

1) I've removed 2 Infinity Kappa 63.5i (6 1/2", 3-way component) speakers from my previous vehicle, and i was hoping to reuse them in the front doors... I know i could mount them in the back doors fine, but to me, it seems like a waste to mount a 3 way speaker behind my seat somewhere... The mounting depth is listed at 2-3/16" for these speakers, Are they going to fit?

2) Assuming these will go in the front, does anyone have a recommendation for what i mount in the access doors? I'm willing to spend $150-$200 per pair for something to go back there, if need be.

3) What kind of output does the factory head unit have? Its not a premium JBL system or anything, just the standard 4 speaker setup. With 2 speakers on hand that have a 75W RMS and plans to buy 2 more of something comparable... i'm thinking a small amplifier is going to be needed to make any difference at all.

4) I'd like to keep the factory head unit installed and install the speakers directly off of it or install an amp off of the factory unit. Can anyone recommend an inexpensive product that would make this possible? I'm pretty sure the factory unit isn't sporting the necessary output.

Again, i'm pretty familiar with the hardware aspect of the car stereo stuff, but i'm a novice when it comes to installing it... so any tips anyone can give me would be appreciated as well.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
782 Posts
Do a search here for "window track mod". This will allow deeper than normal speakers into the front doors, although I'm not sure how deep.