Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,634 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I work in construction and have lots of tools I need to keep handy in the back of my truck. I recently got a contract out of town, I stay overnight at a motel, and I can't keep my eyes on my stuff.

Long story short, I needed a cover and fast.

I used freecycle.org, which is a site where you can get stuff for free, and asked if somebody had a cap or toneau cover they didn't want anymore.

Luckily a guy gave me his cap, unfortunately, it was from a Ford Ranger. It was too short, too narrow and too low for the Tundra.

I fixed all three problems with 2x6s, one down each side rail and one across the top. I used L shaped anchors to attach the 2x6s to the stake pockets (these are generally used to attach walls to poured concrete slabs).

I'm going to be putting some black foam stripping around the front of the cap to take up the space between the cab and the cap.

At the back of the cap, the door is a little high, so I'll be using a strip of rubber which is for a garage door, its a couple inches so it should do the trick.

I'm going to round off the edges of the 2x6s and paint them black to match the truck.

I took the truck through a touchless car wash to see how much water would get into the back, there wasn't much, a little expansion foam and caulking should do the trick.

I honestly thought the cap would like like complete crap, but it doesn't look too bad.

http://www.tundrasolutions.com/photopost/showphoto.php/photo/40969/ppuser/69367

http://www.tundrasolutions.com/photopost/showphoto.php/photo/40968/ppuser/69367

·
No job too small.
2,206 Posts
Yay Tundra_Hick! It looks fine. :tu: Do you say, Frankencap, or Frawnkencap? :D (It's from "Young Frankenstein.")

·
No job too small.
2,206 Posts
Yes, it's definitely a Frawnkencap. It looks much better than expected. I was ready for Poltercap. You're sure that thing is going to stay on there, right?

·
Premium Member