Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I'm new to this so please bear with me if my questions sound naive etc... I have an 05 Sequoia SR5 and am about to install a Dobinsons 1.75" Lift kit on there.

lurking around various boards I've seen a lot of talk about Front Differential Drops on these beasts with a lift over 2". I've also read chatter about Dropping the Carrier Bearing for lifts over 2" as well.

I fall well under the thresholds with a 1.75" lift, but have also heard its a good overall preventive for premature wearing out of the front diff and Carrier Bearing. So my question is:

1. Should I do it anyway?
2. Besides extra cost, is there anything BAD about doing either of these drops if my lift is only 1.75 inches?

Thanks in advance y'all!
H

·
Registered
120 Posts
Do the diff drop. It's cheap and easy to do. I have a 02 sequoia with 2 1/2 lift up front with diff drop. It's been problem free 5 years now. No need to do the carrier bearing drop.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Based on my experience, you will not need a diff drop. However, what you need is high angle CV boots on the inboard side, or at least replace the OEM style clamps with a hose clamp style, other wise you will eventually spit grease. My truck has been leveled/lifted for the last 170K miles, no problems. It has 220k now, running like champ.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks all, this has been very helpful. It's greatly appreciated! I'll continue to check in, but these are more than helpful enough already. Cheers all!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #7