Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, everyone most likely knows how to do this but I'm bored and I have lots of pictures from the install on my truck. I AM NOT AN EXPERT AND SHOULD YOU DECIDE TO FOLLOW THIS INSTALL BASED ON MY INSTRUCTIONS I TAKE NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR DAMAGE DONE TO YOURSELF, YOUR VEHICLE, OR YOUR TOOLS. (I broke 2!) :blah:

First things first you need to jack up the front end so both front tires are in the air (I took the sway bar off and this makes it easier when both front tires are up in the air) but make sure you have that e brake set good and block the rear tires anyways. Good places for jack stands are under the frame on either side of the rear crossmember. I have pretty tall stands so I put them under the frame on either side of the oem skidplate to try and keep them out of my way.

Step 1. Now the wheels come off. No pics at this point cause we've all seen wheels come off. :dry3d:

Step 2. With a 14mm socket you want to take the 2 bolts and 2 nuts holding the sway bar to the sway bar mounts out. This will allow the sway bar to drop down.

This is one of the bolts. There is a nut just on the other side of the sway bar and the other side of the truck has a duplicate mount.

Step 3. Now with the sway bar hanging down we can move on to the shock tower. Again with a 14mm socket or wrench take out 2 of the three nuts that secure the upper shock to the shock tower. Leave one on but loose. You'll see why later.

Shown here are bolts but the this is the location of the oem nuts that hold the shocks studs in the tower.

Step 4. Now we get on our backs again and take out those bolts holding the lower ball joint to the lower a-arm. I used a bfw (big freakin wrench) to get these out. They come from the factory with loctite and are torqued pretty good.