Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My truck: 2005 Toyota Tundra SR5 Crew Cab - completely stock thus far.

I am completely new to Car Audio. I have searched these forums for days looking for completely noobie information on how exactly to do all this, but it seems the majority of folks here (if not all) know much more about Car Audio and use acronyms I don't understand. I apologize in advance if I missed the noobie post on exactly how to do this.

I've wired a 4 gauge (you never know :)) from my + battery terminal, through the firewall, and eventually into my center console, where I have an amplifier mounted inside. I have not hooked anything up yet, just have it routed. I also attached a ground wire from the bracket mounting screws that attach the center of my conosle to the frame. (I attached the ground to the actual body of the truck between the bracket and the truck metal). I plan on hooking this up of couse to the ground on my amplifier.

I have an 8" sub under my back driver side seat (made my own Bazooka type VSE) that I plan on powering with my amplifier.

When I took apart my center console, I see what appears to be two wire harnesses that aren't connected to anything. These are wrapped up with the same wires that lead to my rear power outlet (center console).

So, this is where I stop and wonder what the heck I'm doing.

I want to use the amplifier for powering my subwoofer only and continue using my stock stereo to power the rest of my stock speakers (JBL system).

So here are my questions thus far:

1) Do I run like a simple 14 gauge wire from my amplifier remote turn on to some place in back of my stock stereo, or is there a remote turn-on wire of sorts that I can splice into that is part of the unconnected harnesses under my center console?