Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I stopped by the muffler shop yesterday to inquire about having a new muffler put on. I basically said I want a muffler with a nice sound and no hwy drone. They guy looked at me and so don't even bother, can't be done. He said engine on these things won't produce anything other than loud. It's the first time I ever had a shop tell me to not bother...

It was certainly a confusing experience and I definitely don't want too loud. Another thing is I've never owned a car with an aftermarket muffler, so I'm a newb all the way round...

thoughts? comments? LOL

·
Registered
681 Posts
I have a Flowmaster 50. It has a nice mellow tone and no highway drone. I did not want a loud raspy sound either. I just wanted my truck to sound like a V8 and the stock system is way too quiet for my taste. I am very happy with my setup. I'm sure more members will chime on, but there's a few options out there that will give you what you are looking for. When you do decide, I would go to another shop though!! ;)

·
Back from the dead!
1,778 Posts
He probably owns a Chevy truck, and hates Toyotas.. ;)

I would buy the Corsa Exhaust. If you just want a muffler, I would say a Flowmaster or a Classic Chambered Muffler. :D

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
hey guys, thanks again! oh, and sorry for all the damn typo's in first post, had a 3 year old crawling all over me! i think i'm just going to hook up a flowmaster!

·
Registered
133 Posts
hey bkdelux

i had a similar experience...

guy told me couldnt be done with 4 cats before muffler and he said 1 after but hat might be a resonator....

either way they told me one cant touch it cause all the computer crap and 2 dont bother

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
hey bkdelux

i had a similar experience...

guy told me couldnt be done with 4 cats before muffler and he said 1 after but hat might be a resonator....