Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to the car mechanic world.

Here is my problem: I have an automatic 98 Tocoma 4 cyl, 4x4. Sometimes when I accelerate from a stop or very slow speed, I'll hear the engine start to go, but the wheels arent turning. Then it will suddenly engage and the back wheels will spin slightly.

Is my transmission about to die? Or is it something simple, like the ATF is low? I did recently change the fluid and filter. I did not go through the steps outlined in this forum section for checking the fluid level; I just used the dipstick the same way I would check the oil level.

Can anyone give me some advice?
Thanks!
John

·
Registered
910 Posts
Re: Is my tanny about to explode??

As for fluid level, warm up the truck, put it in park and check the dipstick with the engine running. Make sure the truck is on level ground. Low fluid level is baaaaaaaaaaad.

If your fluid level is correct, my guess is that you have trash in the valve body. The valve body is a mechanical brain that tells the trans what to do. You might try changing the fluid again. If the problem persists, you're in for some repair work. Be very careful as most shops just want to R&R the transmission. I don't know how much it would cost to remove, inspect, and clean the valve body.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Thanks Shall,

I just checked it with the engine cold. It appears as though I have too much in there. I'll try draining out a little today and see how that goes.

John

·
Premium Member
539 Posts

John - from what you describe it sounds like your fluid level is too low.. not high. Make sure you check the level with the engine running. The fluid level will drop as it is being circulated when the engine is running.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·