1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
32,593 Posts
LED lighting is legitimate and does represent the future of lighting, but in terms of forward lighting (headlights) the technology has not yet become mainstream, and as such you will pay a substantial premium. I would wait a few years until they come down in price....and they will. 1440 lumens is nothing special for the money they are asking. This is only about the same as a run-of-the-mill single bulb incandescent light, which would cost you a tenth as much.

·
Registered
916 Posts
By no means am I an expert, buy I have some hands on knowledge of LED lights. First of all, 8 LED modules at 3 watts will draw more than 2 amps and will create a LOT of heat. Secondly, a main drawback to LED's is dispersion of light. There are essentially 2 types of optics currently for LED's. The first kind is a TIR (total internal reflector) optic which creates a very bright narrow beam. the second is a linear optic, which spreads light across a wide spectrum, but not very far in the distance. I am 99% certain that the picture they show that claims to be headlights and the LED lights is fake. I would tell you to save your $550, or invest in a HID conversion kit if you need to spend the money upgrading your lights.

·
Registered
2,534 Posts