Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok being a Engineer I am going to give you the background and some....

Purchased some 18" Eagle Alloy 050 wheels and had a local shop swap my factory tires to them for now, and sold my factory wheels the next day. The following week my Rough Country 3/1 Leveling kit arrived and I got it installed, and nice kit, but noticed that the wheel studs were too short when installing the kit. Hate that the local shop didn't even say anything about the stud length, sure am glad nothing happened the weekend i drive the truck around town. After finding out I had about 5/6 threads on the front and 6/7 on the rear, defiantly not enough threads even though the wheels are still hub centric.

I purchased the wheels from an online dealer which ensured they would fit and the American Eagle Website ensures that they fit. Tried contacting Eagle Alloy but no luck, no response, which is really crappy customer service. Wont buy anything and don't recommend buying anything from them. Not sure what they would even do to fix the problem.

Called a Local after market wheel and tire dealer just for some advise and discuss possible solutions. Well got a smart ass on the phone (owner?) and blah blah blah...in the end said that's why we don't deal with that brand. Well from what I found online a lot of people have the same problem with after market wheels. Solutions I discovered were E/T (extended thread) lug nuts, good idea but OD of the stud hole in the wheel will not accommodate it plus studs are still short and don't extend beyond the lug nut. These are 60 degree conical lug type wheels. Wheel spacers were an option but 1" more offset and $300 bucks more. Found ARP offers a longer stud for the older 12mm Tundra's but not the 14-1.5mm newer Tundra's