Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

Long time reader but first time poster. I'm new to the Tundra world but am a member of a few forums and appreciate the time enthusiasts spend on these forums. With that said I have done some extensive searching and cannot seem to find a problem like mine. Thanks in advance for your input.

My truck is a 2001 Tundra 4WD with 170K miles. Just bought it about 2K miles ago with torn CV boots, original brakes, blown ball joints and 3 different size tires. The truck came with a Revtek leveling kit, which I believe is 1.5" lift in front and a 1 inch block spacer in the rear.With that said I didn't drive it much before rebuilding the front end myself but dont think it had this problem before I worked on it. I am by no means a professional mechanic but this is at least the 6th or 7th front end I have rebuilt. I followed all torque specs and am fairly anal retentive. I replaced:

Lower ball joints
Inner and outer tie rods
Axels
Upper control arms to Camburgs
Icon extended travel coil overs set at 2 inches
Steering rack bushings, poly
Poly lower control arm bushings
Stabilizer links
Upgraded brakes to TSB specs
Tires are brand new 285/75/16 on factory steel rims.

I didn't change the steering rack but I flushed it with new ATF. Didn't change the wheel bearings because they were fine.

After all that I took it down to the crappy Firestone with DJs specs and they got it fairly close with 3 deg caster, just about dead on zero camber and somewhat crappy tow at .06 and .08 right and left.

Now that everything is complete I have some problems. The main problem is that the truck does not want to return to center after a turn. When I turn either direction it will somewhat return but stop about 30 deg away. In addition, the truck seems slightly unsteady going down the road. I feel like I'm always correcting just slightly.