Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1994 Toyota 4runner that has blown its third head gasket. I bought it 10000 miles ago and put all my savings in to it hoping that it would be a reliable vehicle. I am first year school teacher and prior to that I was a solo painting/carpentry contractor. With the economy and new regulations on contractors it is hard to stay alive as a solo carpenter- over head is outrageous. So I was under employed for since last April, then I got this teaching job a few months ago. Needless to say I am broke. Then my 4runner blew the head gasket and more that likely it is going to be too expensive to fix.

My plan is to grind it out for a few months with out my truck and look for a cheep wrecked 4runner that I can pull the motor from and put it in my 94, and I can do this my self. My 94 is in fantastic shape other than the fact it does not run. Plus I dumped all my savings into it. So I kind of have to find a way to fix it.

My question is do I have to put the 3.0V6 in it from the second generation 4runners or trucks(which all seem to have the gasket problem and I would like to avoid that problem again if at all possible) --- OR--- can I put the 3.4L 5VZ-FE V6 from the third generation 4runners and trucks. To move motor mounts would be out of my league and I know the third gen 4runners had a larger build. I’m assuming I can not easily interchange the two motors but im hoping I can as it may be easier to find a truck from the third gen that has a motor worth using. Please comment with all your thoughts.

Thanks
DC

·
Premium Member
754 Posts