Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking at a 2005 Tundra TRD off road package, I am new to trucks and I was wondering what I should look out for when buying a 2005 tundra. I test drove it and I noticed a bit of a ticking sound on acceleration, is this normal? Also when i was trying out the 4x4 i noticed that when I pressed the 4 low button nothing happened. Is there some way I am supposed to use the 4 low option? When I pressed the 2wd /4 High button it clicked in and had the green light on it. But when I pressed the 4 low button nothing happen didnt click in and didnt show a green light, is this normal? Is there anything else I should look out for when buying? thanks for any replies.

·
Registered
330 Posts
the ticking sound is common. I believe it could be cracked exhaust mani. or torn boot for your steering column allowing engine noise or the ticking sound of the injectors to be heard in the cab.

4 Low i think you have to be in 4hi then put in neutral and press the 4lo button. should go in then.
ya 4 hi, then neutral, then 4 low, sometimes it will take a second, flash then go solid green. mine has the ticking as well, ever since i bought it.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Ticking likely ='s cracked exhaust manifolds ='s expensive fix. Use this to get a better price on said truck, or go look for a different one. Not a reason to stay away from it, just know that it will bug you

·
Registered
137 Posts
The 05/06 Tundra's are solid trucks. They have most of the kinks worked out. Check for the ball joint recall. Ticking is common and has been attributed to several things, as seen in previous posts.

·
Premium Member
64 Posts
I have a 2005 DC, no 4WD, but no ticking either. It might be common, but not normal, I wouldn't buy a truck with a known issue that is expensive to fix. I would keep looking.

·
Registered
33 Posts