Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a flowmaster 40 series muffler with a stock pipe. I also installed a k&n drop in filter. I like the setup but as is normal with increased air flow on a gen 1 tundra, my low end power suffers a little. Here are my questions:

• Will headers increase my low end power?
  • If so what brand performs best with gen 1 tundras?
  • Is there anything else I can do to increase my low end?
Thanks much. This forum has helped me a lot in many ways!

·
Premium Member
693 Posts
I'm a bit surprised you would see a loss of low end when you kept the stock pipe's , usually increasing the size of the pipes is what causes the loss .
was the flow 40 much larger than the stock muffler ?
I had the same problem on the 2000 but it was the larger tailpipe .That is why I kept the stock pipe on the 06 and just changed the muffler but the muffler I used was smaller than stock in size.
I would think the easiest and cheepest fix would be to try a different muffler

·
Premium Member
468 Posts
tyler800, I would try a Dynomax Super Turbo, I have used them on two Tundra's (2000 and 2005). Headers (for the money) would be the way to go and as there are no "long tube" headers for the 1st Gen. JBA are the best way to go IMHO. The reason for JBA (expensive) is because of the "firecone" they have in the collecter it fools the shorter header into performing like a longtube....the cheaper headers, Boostbrothers, Gibson, OBX are all shorty headers much like a dragster header, four short tubes into a 2 1/2" collecter....this design is more for high midrange and top end.....Again my two cents, with a lot of cars and trucks behind me. Good luck how ever you do it...CSM-H

PS: you could do gears (very expensive)