Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2,711 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
SO I have been saying for a few years that I want to build a new Desert Truck. Had my twins 2 years ago and the wife is sick of sitting at camp. So we got us a new Toy to build. A little nice to cut up but the price was right due to a bent Rod. We got a 1988 Toyota 4Runner. Original owners, top never removed. The interior is perfect except for a 2 inch rip in the passenger door panel. The clutch and exhaust are brand new. NO dings except for a small door ding in the driver front fender. A little rust in the camper shell part windows but it came with brand new Factory replacements still in the package:D. Also came with a cargo rack for the roof. I already pulled the motor and tore it down. The head is PERFECT so nothing needs to be done there. The bottom end will get rebuilt in a few weeks with the tax $. 22RE with a 5 speed Manual and AC. The truck has 178k miles on it.

The Plan:
1) Long Travel (Not sure which way to go, 2 wheel drive or keep 4 wheel drive). Keeping 4wheel drive means a max of 12-13 inches of travel. 2wd means 17 inches. Is 5 inches more worth losing 4wd? I have never had 4wd before and my current truck has 12-13 and I wanted more travel.
2) 1 Piece Fiberglass front Clip (NOT a Tundra clip one is being made)
3) Full Cage and bumpers
4) 62 Inch Deavers for the rear
5) Corbeau or Mastercraft RS seats in the front and matching Corbeau or Mastercraft seats (or Bench) in the rear with Crow 5 point Harnesses on each.
6) Hopefully some 15 inch Beadlocks and 33 inch BFG's (Unless I find a good deal on used)
7) 4.88 Gears with a Locker in the rear
8) Somehow work the bedsides to incorporate the bulge from Fiberglass bedsides.
9) Custom/Stronger steering
10) Plenty of little stuff Like Steering wheel, Off Road Lights, Tach or new Guage Cluster, aluminum Jack, spare tire (1or2) and stereo