Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been driving a 95 Taco extended cab 4x4 since 2000. And put a '90 Lite Craft pop up camper on it. I've never had a problem
with it even backroads around Moab, slickrock. Had extra springs put it and heavy duty shocks. Now I want to get a 1st gen Tundra
and am concerned my old camper may be too heavy. Seems the payload on my Taco was over 1600, quite a bit more than the Tundra.
Was hoping to get the smaller 1st gen Tundra, access cab, 4x4 with manual. Any dire warnings about trying to put my wood framed camper on the Tundra?
I've just spent the last 6 months sewing a new soft side for it and don't want to get rid of it but want to drive something newer. Tired of being the oldest truck in
the parking lot at the grocery store. Lite Craft went out of business in Denver and I can't find the actual dry weight for the camper.
Currently, it is off my truck. Any ideas? Thanks.

·
Registered
1,308 Posts
I have had a FourWheel Camper in the back of my Tundra for the past 17 years with airbags but my camper is 700-800 lb range and I don't ever think you should go past the GVW of any vehicle. When the Tundra first came out there was someone that overloaded their Tundra with a camper and had no problem leveling it with springs and bags but they ended up cracking the frame. There was a thread on here somewhere that showed the frame but I don't know where it is now. Find a local place that you can weigh your truck. Often county dumps have a scale. FYI I have a 2000 Access Cab 4x4 manual which I am sure you know only comes in the 3.4. I wish that when they put the 4.0 V-6 in the tundra with the 6speed manual that they made a 4x4 but it never happened.