Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,787 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think I figured it out. Tell me what you think.

A while back, over 60,000 miles ago really, I installed a set of Pulstar sparkplugs in my 2006, 4.7 V8 Tundra, Clyde The Ride.
They were okay until one broke, so I replaced them with the factory sparkplugs until a replacement could be had.
Funny thing; immediately after changing back to stock, there was a noticeable drop off in pep, pick-up and smoothness, interesting as I had not noticed an improvement when I installed the Pulstar sparkplugs. Probably a computer adjustment thing, I reckon.
Eventually I re-installed Pulstars and have used them since. Recently I removed the Pulstars, and they looked so good I re-gapped and re-installed them.

I drive around for a living as a courier, to the tune of 150 to 300 miles a day. Usually, I fuel up daily so I know pretty fast if something is happening to affect gas mileage, good or bad. But the Pulstar sparkplugs made absolutely no difference in mileage which has flummoxed me because they are supposed to cause a more powerful plasma-induced burn and the theory is that the more power from a given amount of fuel the less throttle necessary for the same performance, ergo better gas mileage.
I kept thinking back to the dynamometer test the boys on "Trucks" did on their TV show and, sure enough, there was more power, right there on the read-out. I wondered about the vehicle they used, pre-computer and carbureted. Maybe it was my trucks computer responsible for my lack of improved mileage?

When one spends $40.00 or more for gasoline every day, ways to cut expenses are at the forefront, especially knowing that the current administration plans making gas more expensive. Barak Obama said he thought gas over $4.00 a gallon was a good idea, and I have every intention taking him at his word.
So, I've been looking at ways to cut expenses;