Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a mechanic, and dont pretend to be. I'll pay someone to do the install, but I need to do my own homework. I've searched and read just about every thread related to upgrading shocks, but I'm still undecided. Please help.

Reason for upgrade:
I want to upgrade because some folks have reported that better shocks will reduce the amount of trailer bounce I get on some roads when I have our 35ft 9K lb camper behind me. Based on others recommendations, I was looking at the Rancho 9000XL because of their adjustability for ride stiffness, but I'm also curious about the 5100's height adjustability.

So heres a few questions:

1) Can I replace my front shocks with Ranchos or Bilsteins without buying new coilovers (just reuse my stock coils)?

2) If I use Bilstein 5100s up front, can I really lift the front without any additional hardware....just the shock?

I'm a little concerned about some of the online retailers reputations base on poor reports at resellerratings.com. I dont want to name names, but pretty much every "authorized online retailer" on Ranchos website gets poor ratings. So this brings me to my 3 rd question:

3) Can anyone recommend a reputable retailer with competitive pricing?

Thanks!

·
Preferred Dealer
90 Posts
I'm not a mechanic, and dont pretend to be. I'll pay someone to do the install, but I need to do my own homework. I've searched and read just about every thread related to upgrading shocks, but I'm still undecided. Please help.

Reason for upgrade:
I want to upgrade because some folks have reported that better shocks will reduce the amount of trailer bounce I get on some roads when I have our 35ft 9K lb camper behind me. Based on others recommendations, I was looking at the Rancho 9000XL because of their adjustability for ride stiffness, but I'm also curious about the 5100's height adjustability.

So heres a few questions: