Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Rear Pinion noisy

So my 07 Diff starts to get noisy while towing my 29 foot 9,000 lb trailer (I am on vacation)
Figure I will drop it at a dealer 200 km from home and have them fix it while I am camping.
I get a call asking if I own a boat and that the diff had water in it.
THIS IS IMPOSSIBLE, I have had the truck since new, and have never even so much as dipped that diff in water.
Service manager says "look at the rust"
I am a licensed tech, and have been for 20 years, 10 of those spent at Oakville Toyota in Ontario, Canada.
Please look at this picture and tell me if you think the rust shown in it, (inner collar) has been there since assembly.

RICK

·
Registered
2,792 Posts
In my professional opinion, yes. Once filled with gear oil, everything gets coated and won't rust. Even if there was water in the diff, it produces what I call "chocolate milk syndrome." (similar to water in engine oil) I have worked in several shops, three being dealerships, near lakes. I have seen a few diffs full of water. They did not rust, they got milky.
Looks to me like the entire center section sat on a shelf and drew moisture prior to initial installation at the plant that assembled your particular axle assy.

·
Premium Member
1,355 Posts
Isn't there as much rust on the outside of that race as on the inside?. What I see is parts that have been cleaned an set for a while. I find it hard to believe the rust I see could happen even if there was no oil. Why don't you see as much rust on the bearings as the spot where the bearings touch the races?

·
Premium Member
2,395 Posts
Judging by the picture, it looks like there's a bit of surface rust on the bearing cage and on the center section itself.