Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, having a issue removing my rear shocks. I just replaced the front struts and after replacing the fronts I assumed the rears would be a breeze. Well not so much! Have a 2007 Limited with the airbag suspension. The rear is supported on the frame with jack stands so the rear end assembly can move down. I removed the lower shock bolt and the nut on top of the shock is not visible between the frame rail and wheel well. The nut is above the frame rail and I cannot get to it. All I can see is the shock bushing. What am I missing? How do I access the top of the nut? I am not a mechanic by any stretch but I do like to try and work on my sequoia when possible so please be kind if it's something simple. 馃榾

Registered
I just did mine this morning and feel like I should offer some pointers while it's fresh in my memory. If yours is rusty take it somewhere and let them fight it. If not:

-you do not have to jack up anything
-start with the passenger side ( can get two hands up there )
-ratcheting box end 17mm a must
-soak bolts/nuts in WD-40 or something the day before ( I do that when I order my parts online so it's ready when they arrive)
-put wrench on nut first and spin the shock so you can orient the flat sides of the shock rod to your vise grips
-lock on vise grips and use wrench to break free-keep loosening and the nut will push the vice grips off as it rises.
-bottom bolt is self explanatory
-use a rubber mallet to bang the shock off the lower mounting pin and it ( the whole shock) will fall out
-assemble replacement shock bushing(1) and washers (2) and compress shock completely by leaning on it