Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The current exhaust system is shot. Rusted pipes, broken hangers, at least one of the cats is bad and recently cracked the exhaust pipe in half off-roading. So it is time for a new system. Any recommendations? Would like to get a whole setup not source each part individually. As to the cats, I will probably go with Walker not Toyota due to the cost.

· Registered
14 Posts
The current exhaust system is shot. Rusted pipes, broken hangers, at least one of the cats is bad and recently cracked the exhaust pipe in half off-roading. So it is time for a new system. Any recommendations? Would like to get a whole setup not source each part individually. As to the cats, I will probably go with Walker not Toyota due to the cost.
I have a Flowmaster American Thunder on my first gen Tundra with cats and stock headers and she's mint. I'll link a couple vids of sound from it. I'll post a cold start when I get the chance too.
Some revs

· Registered
4,195 Posts
Theres tons of existing threads on options. Just use the search box and type in something like aftermarket exhaust and filter by your vehicle, 1st gen Sequoia.
And opinions will vary on whats best. Just make sure you get 409 stainless, stay away from aluminized, unless you want it to rot out in 3 years that is. LOL.

Reactions: marksebek

· Registered
1,299 Posts
Walker cats due to your cost mandate.

Best is going to be OEM, obviously. Everything else you should go OEM as its top quality. Resonator, Muffler, and all new gaskets/bolts/etc. I’d also purchase some Permatex High Temp Gasket Maker and have it on Hand when redoing your connections as some of your flanges may be rusted/eaten and need an extra seal maker. Benefits of OEM parts is they’ll all mate right up to your existing hangers. Price might be a little higher in parts, but the end result is not needing to pay a garage labor to fab stuff so you’ll save on that.