Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone attempted to put a roof top tent on their truck? I am considering building my own frame above the bed to do so. I have heard that a shell will not hold the tent. Does anyone have any experience with this? I am a noob and have attempted the search feature to find info on this subject. If i have erred please forgive me and point me to the thread and i will not bother anymore. Thanks

·
Resident Curmudgeon
5,211 Posts
The make soft shell / collapsible toppers.

·
Registered
560 Posts
Looks like it would be easier to make a "bed top" tent. Haul it in the bed, lay the floor crossways on the bed rails, and pitch the tent. Some sturdy plywood, a Walmart tent, and a little imagination should just about do it.

Really windy nights might get interesting. Also gotta remember where you are when step out of the tent in the middle of the night to take a whiz.

·
Registered
3,074 Posts
Since Spenser24 mentioned it, here is a picture of my soft topper. Easy as pie to put up and collapses in minutes.
00ardnut,

who is the manufacturer of this soft top. i like the simple design. do you think that this design would mount easily on a truck that has a retractable tonneau cover?

·
Registered
115 Posts
Softopper out of Boulder, CO. I think the website is softopper.com. I don't think you would be able to mount it when a retractable cover is in place. It uses clamps that go under the bedrail and sits flush on the rails. I have gone across the country with it on and it held up great w/ no leaks or water getting inside (and that's saying a lot going through Kansas thunderstorms). That pic was from Rocky Mountain Natl park - what a great place!!

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #9