Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been working on cars since I was 16 years old (now 42) I do everything except mounting tires and alignments out of my garage. Here's the scoop. Son takes the Echo into a 12 inch deep pothole and destroys the rim. I get a new rim from the salvage yard blast and repaint it. I take it to the local service garage and have them mount and balance a new tire. I take it to sears after mounting it myself and tell them I need an alignment and to balance and rotate the remaining tires minus the new one put on two days ago. I watch as they do the alignment no problem. He then simply rotates the tires and starts to put the wheel covers on. I call the manager over and tell him the guys not balancing the tires as I am paying for. He looks at me and says they all were balanced and didnt need adjustment. I get in a bit of heated discussion and tell him a human cant tell if a tires balanced simply by pulling it. He walks over and the mechanic looks through the window and gives me a dirty look. He then walks over to the Hunter and balances the tires including the new one which I didnt authorize. The mechanic then tells me whoever mounted the new tire never put weights on it and in neeeded 16 yes 16 ounces to balance. I told him he was crazy because the rim would be bent if it took that much and that I knew it had weights because I put it on the car. The manager tells me I have to pay the 11.25 for the rim that I know didnt need balancing. I told him no problem. I will immediately pull the wheel cover and use my cell phone to photgraph the 16 ounces of weights and to look for the fresh paint on the rim being scraped from where they claimed no wieghts were. They walk away and he comes back and says "no charge " for the tire . I get the car outside and there is still the original wieght on the front 1/2 ounce and nothing on the backside. I asked him to come out and show me where the remaini