Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,056 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been poking around with this snorkle thing for a couple of years, once even building one out of styrofoam. But when I saw the units mounted on the sides of British Army and Royal Narine defender 110's I knew I found a keeper. After making friends with some brit mechanics, I now possess both Army (steel) and a Royal Marine (plastic) snorkles. These have built in flexible joints that easily adapt to the Tundra and a neat swirl pre-cleaner on the top. All I'll have to do is fab up the part under the fender liner, and I should have it!

Attachments

·
Just a Herbicidal maniac.
2,172 Posts
Excellent! I look forward to following your progress. :tu:

·
Registered
190 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,056 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Awesome! Is this the Defender 110 Snorkel made by Mantec?(Mantec Services - Overland and 4x4 Equipment)
-Mack
Sorry, a little late in getting back to this thread, big war suddenly started happening over here...

Yes, I think you have a winner. That seems to be the exact snorkle I have sitting in my room. I now have three different and distinctive snorkles for the military 110 defender. One is of no use to the Tundra crowd, it is designed to attach to the top of the "wing". The plastic model will bolt right up with some customization. The ruberized steel tube will fit, but is maybe only 2.5" ID which would restrict the supercharged V8 a little.

Tedd, the A-Pillar thing is not going to be that difficult. I already started that part before I left to go back across the pond. I drilled several holes on the inside of the A-pillar and inserted some thread-serts. I fashioned a stainless plate to extend outward through the door frame/ A-pillar gap. That is the flange I will use to bolt up the snorkle tube. No real big deal with that. I'll install in in early June when I visit the states again.

·
Registered
410 Posts