Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so im very new to ts as far as being a member lol but i have read the forums alot im soon to be doing a sas on a 2000 toyota tundra sr5 thats 2wd...i know i know why would i want to do that when there are 4wd's out there but this truck has alot of miles ont it and its my first big project and i wanna attempt it i have a shope here in florida called ernies 4x4 he is gonna be helping me do the swap and 4wd conversion but i have seen apimpdad's tundra dyogim's tundra and all the others and they have all been an inspiration to do this so i will post as i do the swap and what all goes on plz feel free to comment and if anyone that has done this already (apimpdad or dyogim) have any helpful tips i would appreciate it lol.

·
Registered
2,992 Posts
What are your plans for the truck off roading wise? Mud, trails, rocks, weekend truck, DD, or a designated toy? What axles are you wanting to run and how are you going to go about converting to a 4x4? 4x4 tranny and t-case or a divorce mount case?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well its gonna mostly see mud here in my little town of starke thats all we have is mud but i also hunt every year so it will see backwoods roads i wouldnt really consider them trails but......well i was gonna go with a d44 out of a old wagoneer this is what i was refferd to by my local 4x4 shop but then i was told by mike that it owuld proably be best not to because it wouldnt hold up to anything bigger than 35's so im thinking now i will try to find a d60 and a rear end.....also the reason i was going with the d44 was because the 4x4 shop told me that the axles were the same length as the stock axles??? but anyways i was gonna go with a regular 4x4 tranny and t-case......although i did like how you set up yours:thumb:

·
Registered
2,992 Posts